About de Angelis Vocal Ensemble

About the de Angelis Vocal Ensemble

Matthew Gray, Artistic Director

Matthew Gray, Artistic Director

The de Angelis Vocal Ensemble was created in 2005 to enrich and broaden the southern California arts community. While this large geographic area offers several sizeable choral ensembles, very few professional chamber ensembles are present.

In addition to our small size and primary performance of a cappella [unaccompanied] repertoire, our projects attempt to program music that is unique to the smaller, a cappella ensemble, and provides the community with a more eclectic and cutting edge presentation of choral music. Our organization is known for our innovative arts programming which engages the diverse cultural expression of the Southern California community.

In addition to championing lesser known works of the past, de Angelis has an unwavering commitment to today’s composers. De Angelis is an advocate for the choral arts in the community, corporate, and educational arenas, and is committed to increased public awareness, participation and investment in the choral arts in Orange County.

If you have not had the opportunity to experience one of our programs, you are missing out on a rare Orange County cultural experience.

The unique combination of the extraordinary setting at the Basilica at the historic Mission San Juan Capistrano, and this thrilling and captivating ensemble is not to be missed. Come experience one of Orange County’s best kept secrets!

Our Singers


Stephanie Aston
Audrey Donaldson
Elizabeth Ladizinsky
Lauren McCaul
Stacey Miles
Jenny Ohrstrom
Sarah Parga

Read More About Our Sopranos


Sarah Gonzalez
Natalie Headland
Susie McDermid
Agy Lejman Norris
Lindsay Patterson
Sarah Reynolds
Audrey Wiechman

Read More About Our Altos


Gerald Craft
Eli Gunnell
Dermot Kiernan
John St. Marie
Christopher Roney
Michael Upward

Read More About Our Tenors


Michael Bannett
Bob DeCarlo
Will Luster
Victor Mazzone
Brett McDermid
Joel Nesvadba
Paul Sobosky
Stephen Salts

Read More About Our Basses

Board of Directors

Board President
Sue House

Chairman of the Board
Frank Dohn

Chief Financial Officer
Shane Huiberts

Board Members at Large
John Consoli
David House
Toni Redman
John Romeri
Joe Truxaw
Patrcia Wise

Advisory Board Members
Marta Brennan
Marcy Lindstrom
Lesa Truxaw